Private Business Awards 2014 – Shortlist

The Private Business Awards, sponsored by PwC and in association with HSBC Private Bank and Numis Securities Ltd. is now in its fourth successful year. The awards are positioned to recognise success and achievement within the vast number of private businesses in the UK, and are presented to the UK’s most successful private companies, entrepreneurs and management teams.

This year, we have had over 1,000 nominations and this figure has surpassed all of our expectations.  The Private Business Awards voting panel met on 4 June 2014 to decide on the shortlist for this year’s awards. The panel of judges included Sir Charles Dunstone (CarphoneWarehouse and Talk Talk), Angus Thirlwell of Hotel Chocolat, Baroness Lucy Neville-Rolfe, Member of the PwC Advisory Board and Trevor Fenwick, Euromonitor who won last year’s Private Business of the Year award.

In making their decision, they faced a higher than ever quality of participants that has improved year-on-year, as well as an unprecedented number of entrants and nominations.

The shortlist contains recognisable names and brands alongside some less well known, but equally successful, companies across the length and breadth of the UK. We look forward to sharing all of their stories and successes and demonstrating the talent and innovation in the private business sector.

Technology Innovation of the Year award sponsored by finnCap

  • Adey Professional Heating Solutions
  • Pavegen Systems Ltd
  • RepKnight
  • True Potential LLP
  • Viper Subsea Technology Ltd

Social Enterprise of the Year award sponsored by Blue Skies Holdings

  • Bevan Healthcare CIC
  • Bikeworks
  • Lifesaver Systems Ltd
  • Plan Bee Ltd
  • Student@Home

High Growth Business of the Year award sponsored by Equistone Partners Europe Ltd

  • Audio Network Ltd
  • Euro Garages
  • Global Personals Ltd
  • Huntswood CTC Ltd
  • Yours Clothing Ltd
  • Zandera Ltd

International Business of the Year award sponsored by HSBC Commercial Bank

  • Elmgrove Foods Ltd
  • Gravity Media Group
  • MPM Products Ltd
  • The Genuine Gemstone Co.
  • The Gro Co.
  • Xtrac Ltd

Emerging Entrepreneur of the Year award sponsored by Withers LLP

  • Chris Charnley, John Thompson, Mark Osborne – Ambrey Risk Ltd
  • Colin Stevens – Better Bathrooms UK Ltd
  • Kevin Dorren – Diet Chef Ltd
  • Richard & Anthony Joseph – Joseph Joseph Ltd
  • Titus Sharpe – MVF Global
  • Dilshad & Barinder Hothi – The Knowledge Academy Ltd

Private Business Woman of the Year award sponsored by PwC

  • Lucy Jewson – Frugi & Cut4Cloth
  • Tracy Lynn Mort – Grace Cole Ltd
  • Catherine Beare – Holiday Extras Ltd
  • Prof. Alyson Warhurst – Maplecroft
  • Julie Kenny – Secure Holdings Ltd
  • Sarah Bennett – The Genuine Gemstone Co.

CEO of the Year award

  • Kirit Patel – Day Lewis plc
  • Craig Coffield – Huntswood CTC Ltd
  • Phil Doye – Kelway Ltd
  • Rowan Gormley – Naked Wines
  • Abdelhamid Guedroudj – Petroleum Experts Ltd
  • Peter Digby – Xtrac Ltd

VC Backed Business of the Year award

  • Breathing Buildings
  • Farfetch
  • MedicAnimal Ltd
  • Shazam Entertainment Ltd
  • The Gro Co.
  • Zopa Ltd

Family Business of the Year award sponsored by Rigby Group plc

  • Aspall
  • Day Lewis plc
  • JW Lees & Co. Brewers Ltd
  • Ralawise Ltd
  • Ridgeon Group Ltd
  • The Entertainer

Private Business of the Year award sponsored by HSBC Private Bank

  • AES Engineering Ltd
  • Fircroft
  • FoundOcean
  • Kelway Ltd
  • Petroleum Experts Ltd
  • Wilmott Dixon

The awards will be presented at a gala dinner at The Guildhall on Wednesday 10 September 2014.

Further details can be found on